Neil Young’s On The Beach finally reissued as standalone vinyl LP


1974 classic reissued on LP along with Time Fades Away & others

Neil Young‘s celebrated, but often elusive, 1974 album On The Beach will be reissued as an individual vinyl LP in September, along with a few other classics, including Tonight’s the Night, and Zuma.

Young’s fifth studio album was recorded after 1975’s Tonight’s The Night, but issued before it. It failed to to match the commercial success of its studio predecessor Harvest but four decades on is highly regarded, exhibiting a bleak beauty; sparse, loose and mellow. Side two in particular, with its run of On The Beach, Motion Pictures and the nine-minute Ambulance Blues, is superb and moving.

On The Beach was unavailable for decades, and it wasn’t officially released on CD until as late as 2003.  Fans have been able to pick it up as part of the vinyl box set The Official Release Series Vol 5-8, which came out in 2014, but this is first time it has been in print as a single vinyl record for an extremely long time. All four records in that box will now be available separately and are issued on 9 September 2016

Compare prices and pre-order

Neil Young & Crazy Horse

Zuma [VINYL]



On The Beach (1974)

1. “Walk On” Neil Young
2. “See the Sky About to Rain”
3. “Revolution Blues”
4. “For the Turnstiles”
5. “Vampire Blues”

Side two
1. “On the Beach”
2. “Motion Pictures”
3. “Ambulance Blues”

Tonight’s The Night (1975)

Side one
1. “Tonight’s the Night”
2. “Speakin’ Out”
3. “World on a String”
4. “Borrowed Tune”
5. “Come on Baby Let’s Go Downtown”
6. “Mellow My Mind”

Side two
1. “Roll Another Number”
2. “Albuquerque”
3. “New Mama”
4. “Lookout Joe”
5. “Tired Eyes”
6. “Tonight’s the Night”

Zuma (1975)

Side one
1. “Don’t Cry No Tears”
2. “Danger Bird”
3. “Pardon My Heart”
4. “Lookin’ for a Love”
5. “Barstool Blues”

Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Stupid Girl” Neil Young 3:13
2. “Drive Back” Neil Young 3:32
3. “Cortez the Killer” Neil Young 7:29
4. “Through My Sails” Neil Young

Time Fades Away (live album 1973)

]1. “Time Fades Away”
2. “Journey thru the Past”
3. “Yonder Stands the Sinner”
4. “L.A.”
5. “Love in Mind”

Side two
1. “Don’t Be Denied”
2. “The Bridge”
3. “Last Dance”

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments