Now That’s What I Call Electronic

New synth-pop 4CD set

The NOW team will issue a new various artists four-CD in the new year. Now That’s What I Call Electronic is a “celebration of the rise of electronic anthems” and offers a largely Eighties-based selection of 78 tracks.

This collection includes big pop hits such as a-ha’s ‘Take On Me’, Duran Duran’s ‘Planet Earth’, Queen’s ‘Radio Ga-Ga’ (track one, disc one – naturally) but there’s enough variety to keep things interesting including Flock of Seagulls, Yello, Malcom McLaren, Trans-X, Art of Noise, Joy Division, The Associates, Furniture and more.

There’s a few appropriate ‘long’ versions of appropriate tracks including Donna Summer’s ‘I Feel Love’ and New Order’s ‘Blue Monday’. The ‘Performance Mix’ of Dead Or Alive’s ‘You Spin Me Round (Like A Record)’ also features.

Now That’s What I Call Electronic is a 4CD set with 78 tracks (click image to enlarge)

The official line is that this compilation “focuses on the emergence of synth-pop as a dominant sub-genre of new wave” although no doubt fans will discuss the merits of individual selections. It’s great to see an ABBA track here but does ‘Gimme Gimme Gimme (A Man After Midnight)’ really qualify?

There are loads of tracks that do fit the bill perfectly, of course, such as Ultravox’s ‘Vienna’, Visage’s ‘Fade to Grey’, Japan’s ‘Quiet Life’, OMD’s Enola Gay, Gary Numan’s ‘Cars’, M’s ‘Pop Muzik’ and more.

As usual, any quibbles can be easily shrugged off when you consider that this four-CD package is available for pre-order at under £9.

Now That’s What I Call Electronic will be released on 7 January 2022.

Compare prices and pre-order

Various Artists

Now Thats What I Call Electronic - 4CD set



Now That’s What I Call Electronic Various Artists / 4CD set

    • CD 1
      1. Queen – Radio Ga Ga
      2. New Order – Blue Monday
      3. Eurythmics, Annie Lennox, Dave Stewart – Love Is A Stranger
      4. Ultravox – Vienna
      5. Visage – Fade To Grey
      6. Japan – Quiet Life
      7. Soft Cell – Tainted Love
      8. The Human League – The Sound Of The Crowd
      9. Duran Duran – Planet Earth
      10. Spandau Ballet – To Cut A Long Story Short
      11. Gary Numan – Cars
      12. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark – Enola Gay
      13. Landscape – Einstein A Go-Go
      14. Tears For Fears – Mad World
      15. Heaven 17 – Temptation
      16. Blancmange – Living On The Ceiling
      17. Fiction Factory – (Feels Like) Heaven
      18. The Lotus Eaters – The First Picture Of You
      19. A Flock Of Seagulls – I Ran (So Far Away)
      20. Yello – The Race
    • CD 2
      1. Donna Summer – I Feel Love (12” Version)
      2. Chaka Khan – I Feel For You
      3. Freeez – I.O.U.
      4. Shannon – Let The Music Play
      5. Company B – Fascinated
      6. The S.O.S Band – Just Be Good To Me
      7. Nu Shooz – I Can’t Wait
      8. The Pointer Sisters – Automatic
      9. Man 2 Man – Male Stripper
      10. Patrick Cowley feat. Sylvester – Do You Wanna Funk
      11. Liza Minnelli – Losing My Mind
      12. Eighth Wonder – I’m Not Scared
      13. Animotion – Obsession
      14. Trans-X – Living On Video
      15. Dazz Band – Let It All Blow
      16. Harold Faltermeyer – Axel F (From “Beverly Hills Cop” Soundtrack)
      17. Art Of Noise – Close (To The Edit)
      18. Malcolm McLaren – Buffalo Gals
      19. Joe Jackson – Steppin’ Out
    • CD 3
      1. ABBA – Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
      2. Blondie – Atomic
      3. The Buggles – Video Killed The Radio Star
      4. M – Pop Muzik
      5. Paul Hardcastle – 19
      6. Falco – Rock Me Amadeus (The American Edit)
      7. Phil Lynott – Yellow Pearl (First 7″ Remix)
      8. Kim Wilde – Kids In America
      9. Altered Images – Don’t Talk To Me About Love
      10. a-ha – Take On Me
      11. Philip Oakey & Giorgio Moroder – Together In Electric Dreams
      12. Howard Jones – New Song
      13. Nik Kershaw – Wouldn’t It Be Good
      14. Limahl – Never Ending Story
      15. Thompson Twins – Love On Your Side
      16. Men Without Hats – The Safety Dance
      17. Kon Kan – I Beg Your Pardon (I Never Promised You A Rose Garden)
      18. Peter Schilling – Major Tom (Coming Home)
      19. Midge Ure – If I Was
      20. China Crisis – Christian
      21. Jan Hammer – Crockett’s Theme (From “Miami Vice II” Soundtrack)
    • CD 4
      1. Dead Or Alive – You Spin Me Round (Like A Record) (Performance Mix)
      2. The Human League – Love Action (I Believe In Love)
      3. Propaganda – Dr Mabuse
      4. The Cure – The Walk
      5. Joy Division – Love Will Tear Us Apart
      6. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark – Messages
      7. Our Daughter’s Wedding – Lawn Chairs
      8. Iggy Pop – Nightclubbing
      9. Bronski Beat – Smalltown Boy
      10. Erasure – Drama!
      11. Scritti Politti – Absolute
      12. The Associates – Party Fears Two
      13. Furniture – Brilliant Mind
      14. Talk Talk – It’s My Life
      15. Simple Minds – Glittering Prize
      16. Swans Way – Soul Train
      17. The Passions – I’m In Love With A German Film Star
      18. Soft Cell – Say Hello, Wave Goodbye

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments