Phil Collins / Hello, I Must Be Going & Dance into the Light / 2CD sets

unnamed (1)

No hanging around, as Warners and Phil Collins plan to follow-up the as-yet-unissued reissues of Face Value and Both Sides – phase one of the ‘Take A Look At Me Now’ retrospective campaign – just four weeks later, with two disc deluxe editions of Hello, I Must Be Going and Dance Into The Light due at the end of February…

The pattern of pairing an early album with a later offering is maintained and since both Hello, I Must Be Going (1982) and Dance Into The Light (1996) were the respective follow-ups to Face Value and Both Sides, there is a high probability that phase three will consist of No Jacket Required and Testify (with the final releases likely to be …But Seriously and Going Back).

As before, these new sets are “entirely” curated and compiled by Collins, and as the track listings below illustrate, he is not deviating from his plan to show “how nicely the songs developed when played on stage, rather than showing how they originated”. So live tracks dominate the bonus discs of both Hello, I Must Be Going and Dance Into The Light with only the occasional B-side and demo. It’s good to see the artist getting his hands dirty and getting involved but whether Collins has his finger on the pulse of what his audience really wants from an archival reissue is up for debate. Fan reaction from the previous announcement suggests that this is a flawed approach.

Warners have certainly given Collins a great deal of freedom, even allowing him to change the cover art, with identical images of the 64-year old songwriter and musician replacing his younger self. This treatment is probably the one aspect of this campaign that has won plaudits and you have to admire Collins’ lack of vanity, although if truth be told, it doesn’t really work for Dance Into The Light.

Hello, I Must Be Going! and Dance Into The Light will be available as two-CD deluxe sets and 180g vinyl editions which feature the album without any bonus material. Nick Davis handles remastering once more.

Hello, I Must Be Going! and Dance Into The Light are reissued on 26 February 2016.



Hello, I Must Be Going 2CD Deluxe Edition


Dance Into The Light 2CD Deluxe Edition


Hello, I Must Be Going 2CD Deluxe

CD 1

1. “I Don’t Care Anymore”
2. “I Cannot Believe It’s True”
3. “Like China”
4. “Do You Know, Do You Care?”
5. “You Can’t Hurry Love”
6. “It Don’t Matter To Me”
7. “Thru These Walls”
8. “Don’t Let Him Steal Your Heart Away”
9. “The West Side”
10. “Why Can’t It Wait ‘Til Morning?”

CD 2

1. “I Don’t Care Anymore” – Live*
2. “I Cannot Believe It’s True – Live*
3. ‘Like China” – Live*
4. “You Can’t Hurry Love” – Live*
5. “It Don’t Matter To Me” – Live*
6. “The West Side” – Live Rehearsal*
7. “People Get Ready” – Live*
8. “Thru These Walls” – Live*
9. “It’s Alright” – Live*
10. “Oddball” – Demo of “Do You Know, Do You Care?”*
11. “Don’t Let Him Steal Your Heart Away” – Demo*

* Previously unreleased on CD

Dance Into The Light 2CD Deluxe

Original Album Remastered Bonus Tracks – CD & Digital Formats Only
1. “Dance Into The Light”
2. “That’s What You Said”
3. “Lorenzo”
4. “Just Another Story”
5. “Love Police”
6. “Wear My Hat”
7. “It’s In Your Eyes”
8. “Oughta Know By Now”
9. “Take Me Down”
10. “The Same Moon”
11. “River So Wide”
12. “No Matter Who”
13. “The Times They Are A-Changin”

CD 2

1. “Dance Into The Light” – Live*
2. “Just Another Story” – Live*
3. “Wear My Hat” – Live*
4. “River So Wide” – Live*
5. “Take Me Down” – Live*
6. “Lorenzo” – Demo*
7. “That’s What You Said” – Demo*
8. “Another Time” – B-side
9. “It’s Over” – B-side
10. “I Don’t Wanna Go” – B-side

* Previously unreleased on CD

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments