Robert Palmer / Collected 3CD set

Not your usual lazy Robert Palmer compilation…

Remember that Level 42 Collected compilation we told you about a few weeks back, well, as some of you pointed out, Universal Netherlands are also preparing  a similar three-CD set for that much-missed Yorkshireman Robert Palmer, and it looks surprisingly good…

Robert Palmer: Collected, broadly speaking, devotes its first disc to Palmer’s Island Years, the second to his tenure at EMI and, perhaps most interestingly, has a third disc of relative rarities including b-sides, twelve-inch remixes and two tracks from rhythm and blues group Vinegar Joe – the band Robert was in with Elkie Brooks in the early 1970s. As far as I can remember I don’t recall any previous Palmer compilation including Vinegar Joe tracks, but Collected gets even more interesting by going back even further to 1969 for, Gypsy Girl, Robert’s debut with The Alan Bown Set. He contributed vocals to the song after Jess Roden had left.

The third disc also features Milk Cow’s Calf Blues, Palmer’s contribution to the 2001 Robert Johnson tribute album Hellhound on My Trail, and Life in Detail, a relative obscurity from the soundtrack of the film Pretty Woman.

Although the world doesn’t really need another Robert Palmer compilation, this one at least makes an effort to be interesting and at 34 years, spans the widest period of time. It includes tracks from all his solo studio album and has this gem of a third disc which does break new ground with some of the selections.

Robert Palmer: Collected is released on 19 August 2016. It’s effectively an import outside The Netherlands, so prices will reflect that.


Disk 1

  1. Get outside
  2. Sneakin’ sally through the alley
  3. Give me an inch
  4. Which of us is the fool
  5. Man smart, woman smarter
  6. Every kinda people
  7. Best of both worlds
  8. What’s it take?
  9. Bad case of loving you (doctor, doctor)
  10. Jealous
  11. Can we still be friends?
  12. Johnny and mary
  13. Looking for clues
  14. Not a second time
  15. Some guys have all the luck
  16. You are in my system
  17. You can have it (take my heart)
  18. Pride
  19. Discipline of love
  20. Riptide

Disc 2

  1. Addicted to love
  2. Hyperactive
  3. I didn’t mean to turn you on
  4. Simply irresistible
  5. She makes my day
  6. Early in the morning
  7. Tell me i’m not dreaming
  8. Change his ways
  9. It could happen to you
  10. You’re amazing
  11. Mercy mercy me / i want you
  12. Dreams to remember
  13. Happiness
  14. Witchcraft
  15. Girl u want
  16. Know by now
  17. You blow me away
  18. Respect yourself
  19. True love
  20. Dr. zhivago’s train

Disc 3 

  1. Gypsy girl the alan bown
  2. Never met a dog (that took to me) (vinegar joe)
  3. See the world (through my eyes) (vinegar joe)
  4. Parade of the obliterators
  5. Pride (remix)
  6. You can have it (take my heart) (12″ version)
  7. You are in my system (remix)
  8. Some like it hot (the power station)
  9. Get it on (bang a gong) (the power station)
  10. Simply irresistible (e.t. remix)
  11. Mercy mercy me / i want you (12″ remix)
  12. Sweet lies (from “sweet lies” soundtrack)
  13. Life in detail (from “pretty woman” soundtrack)
  14. I’ll be your baby tonight ft. ub40
  15. Every kinda people (1992 remix)
  16. Milk cow’s calf blues (tribute to robert johnson)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments