Saxon / The CD Hoard five-disc bookset

In 2016 Edsel issued an Saxon 8LP vinyl box set called The Vinyl Hoard and the label have now responded to fan requests for this be issued on CD and are preparing The CD Hoard for a March release.

This five-CD bookset does the same job, of course, showcasing four tours from between 1995 and 2006, namely The Dogs Of War Tour from ’95 (on two CDs), The Lionheart Tour (2004), the 25th anniversary Night Out With The Boys Tour from 2005 and the Rock Sound Festival from 2006.

The CD Hoard features the same cover art, a painting by the band’s artist-in-residence, Paul Gregory and is packaged as a 24-page book.

Amazon in the UK have an exclusive version of this set (limited to 500 copies) which includes four postcards. While postcards may not have the wow factor of a signed print, it’s worth noting that at the time of writing this edition cheaper than the standard version, sans postcards!

The CD Hoard will be released on 16 March 2018.

Compare prices and pre-order


The CD Hoard - exclusive edition with postcards


Compare prices and pre-order


The CD Hoard - standard edition


Disc: 1
1. Intro / Warlord
2. Dogs Of War
3. Forever Free
4. Requiem
5. Crusader
6. Lights In The Sky
7. Iron Wheels
8. Ain’t Gonna Take It [Nibb’s Bavarian Bass]
9. Crash Dive
10. Refugee

Disc: 2
1. Solid Ball Of Rock
2. The Great White Buffalo
3. The Eagle Has Landed [Paul Quinn guitar feature]
4. Princess Of The Night
5. Can’t Stop Rockin’
6. Denim And Leather ]Doug Scarratt guitar feature]
7. Wheels Of Steel / Demolition Alley

Disc: 3
1. The Return
2. Lionheart
3. Man And Machine
4. Beyond The Grave
5. Searching For Atlantis
6. To Live By The Sword Pt. 1
7. Unleash The Beast
8. To Live By The Sword Pt. 2
9. Flying On The Edge
10. Jack Tars
11. English Man O’ War
12. Court Of The Crimson King
13. Broken Heroes
14. Dragon’s Lair
15. Rock Is Our Life
16. Are We Travellers In Time
17. Solid Ball Of Rock

Disc: 4
1. This Town Rocks
2. Backs To The Wall
3. Redline
4. Stand Up And Be Counted
5. Never Surrender
6. Frozen Rainbow
7. Suzie Hold On
8. Play It Loud
9. Warrior
10. See The Light Shining
11. To Hell And Back Again
12. Stallions Of The Highway
13. Wheels Of Steel
14. And The Bands Played On
15. Crusader

Disc: 5
1. Heavy Metal Thunder
2. Dogs Of War
3. Strong Arm Of The Law
4. Witchfinder General
5. Backs To The Wall
6. Solid Ball Of Rock
7. Motorcycle Man
8. Dragon’s Lair
9. To Hell And Back Again
10. Princess Of The Night
11. Wheels Of Steel [inc Doug Scarratt solo]
12. Crusader

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments