Spandau Ballet / Gold: The Best Of compilation to be issued on vinyl

First time on vinyl • 2014 studio tracks added • Hadley snubbed

Spandau Ballet‘s Gold: The Best Of compilation is set to be issued on vinyl for the first time in June.

The collection was originally issued in 2000 and featured 18 songs from the band’s first six studio albums. When it was reissued in 2008 (as a CD+DVD set) both Raw and Be Free With Your Love (from 1989’s Heart Like A Sky) were left off and She Loved Like Diamond (from 1982’s Diamond) was added, making it a 17-track collection.

Left off! The Tony Hadley penned “Soul Boy”

For this new 2LP vinyl reissue, there is another track-listing rejig. It adheres to the 2008 presentation, but this time, two of the three new studio tracks from 2014’s ‘The Story’ best of (This Is The Love and Steal) are added. The Tony Hadley penned Soul Boy is notable by its absence. With Hadley now departed, the reason for that is pretty obvious, but it’s a shame, because on merit, I think it deserves a place ahead of the other two songs.

So Gold has gone from 18, to 17 and now back up to 19 tracks for this new the double vinyl version. It should be released on 8 June 2018.

Spandau Ballet / Gold 2LP vinyl

Side 1
1. Gold
2. True
3. Only When You Leave
4. This Is the Love*

Side: 2
1. Lifeline
2. Communication
3. Instinction (Edit)
4. Chant No 1 (I Don’t Need This Pressure On)
5. To Cut a Long Story Short
6. The Freeze

Side 3
1. Musclebound
2. Paint Me Down
3. She Loved Like Diamond
4. Round and Round
5. Highly Strung

Side 4
1. Fight for Ourselves
2. Steal*
3. I’ll Fly for You
4. Through the Barricades

*new additions

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments