The Girlie Show: Cyndi Lauper / She’s So Unusual: 3D pack shot

Click for BIG hi-res version!

As regular readers will know, the Cyndi Lauper She’s So Unusual reissue has been controversial, both for the pricing and due to the content missing from the two-disc set.

Here’s a first look at what caused the consternation and the high price point. Yes, it’s the “3D” packaging which is supposed to recreate the bedroom featured in the Girls Just Want To Have Fun video. Fair play, it’s creative, but with no option for a less Barbie-like, no-frills, two-CD version, the folly of the project remains.

If the track listing was an amazing no-stone-unturned serious archival enterprise, then it would be easier to forgive a music release that looks more like an activity set you buy for your eight year-old daughter when embarking upon a long journey. But it since it’s not, and since – despite a significant price-drop – it’s still more than £20 (even Led Zeppelin only want to charge to £12.99 for their two-CD deluxe) you really have to wonder what they were thinking when this project was green-lit.

The 30th Anniversary Celebration of She’s Not Unusual is issued on 31 March 2014.

2CD Deluxe Edition

Vinyl (with download code)

 Track listing

Disc: 1

  • 1. Money Changes Everything
  • 2. Girls Just Want To Have
  • 3. When You Were Mine
  • 4. Time After Time
  • 5. She Bop
  • 6. All Through The Night
  • 7. Witness
  • 8. I’ll Kiss You
  • 9. He’s So Unusual
  • 10. Yeah Yeah
  • 11. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (2013 Yolanda Be Cool Remix)
  • 12. Time After Time (2013 Nervo Remix)
  • 13. Time After Time (2013 Bent Collective Remix)

Disc: 2 (deluxe only)

  • 1. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (Early Guitar Demo)
  • 2. All Through The Night (1982 rehearsal, with studio dialog)
  • 3. Rules And Regulations (1982 Rehearsal)
  • 4. Money Changes Everything (Demo)
  • 5. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (Demo)
  • 6. Right Train, Wrong Track (Non LP B-Side)
  • 7. Witness (Live, Boston, 1984)
  • 8. She Bop (1983 Arthur Baker Remix)
  • 9. Time After Time (Work In Progress Rough Mix)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments