The Rolling Stones / Their Satanic Majesties Request: anniversary deluxe

Mono/Stereo vinyl • Hybrid SACDs • No bonus audio

Universal Music will issue a 50th anniversary deluxe edition of The Rolling Stones‘ 1967 album Their Satanic Majesties Request in September .

This set is one of the more straightforward to explain, since it comprises the stereo and mono versions of the album, newly remastered by by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering. Both mixes are pressed onto vinyl (lacquer cut by Sean Magee at Abbey Road Studios) and are supplied on two hybrid SACDs (super audio CDs).

Universal are calling this a ’50th Anniversary Special Audiophile Edition’ and while the term ‘audiophile’ is used so liberally these days by labels and their PR partners it’s all but lost its meaning, the inclusion of the very niche SACD format does justify it in this case.

So to be clear, this is a four-disc set that delivers two vinyl records and two hybrid SACDs – these aren’t being made available separately. Hybrid means that you can play the discs on standard CD players, although you will lose the hi-res element and will only be accessing a standard 44.1 kHz/16 bit stereo version of the new remaster.

It should be noted that Their Satanic Majesties Request has been issued on SACD before. The out-of-print ABKCO Rolling Stones CD reissues of 2002 were all hybrid SACDs although that fact was rather unplayed at the time and you have to look hard to see mention of it on the packaging. Also, Universal Japan issued an SACD of this title in 2011, which was reissued as recently as 2014.

This new 2017 edition of the album comes in special eight-panel gatefold packaging that folds out into a square (see image above). It also restores the original lenticular front cover, something last year’s mono box set failed to do.

The 50th anniversary comes with a modest 20-page booklet, which includes an essay by Rob Bowman and features Michael Cooper’s photos from original cover shoot. This set is described as a “limited edition pressing” that comes with “hand-numbered sleeves”.

This four-disc 50th anniversary edition of Their Satanic Majesties Request will be released on 22 September 2017.

  • 1. Sing This All Together
  • 2. Citadel
  • 3. In Another Land
  • 4. 2000 Man
  • 5. Sing This All Together (See What Happens)
  • 6. She’s A Rainbow
  • 7. The Lantern
  • 8. Gomper
  • 9. 2000 Light Years From Home
  • 10. On With The Show

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments