Tori Amos / Boys For Pele 2CD deluxe


Rhino will issue Tori Amos‘ third album, Boys For Pele, in November as a two-CD deluxe edition and a 2LP vinyl edition.

The 1996 album was partly recorded in Ireland and saw Amos moving away from the piano a little bit, bringing instruments such as the Harpsichord to the fore.

Three singles were issued in the UK. The first two, Caught a Light Sneeze and Talula, failed to penetrate the UK top 20 but thanks to Armand Van Helden’s remix of Professional Widow, Tori ended up with an improbable UK number one. Someone back in the day had the bright idea to reissue the album as a special edition with the eight-minute remix inserted into this beautiful long-player as track five, right after the standard album version of the song. Ridiculous.

Thankfully, we don’t even get that version of the song on this new deluxe, just the radio edit on disc two of this remastered set. In fact, if you’re looking for some of the many single remixes you’re out of luck, although an unreleased ‘M&M mix’ of Talula is on CD two along with three other previously unreleased tracks: To The Fair Motormaids of Japan, In The Springtime Of His Voodoo (Rookery Ending) and Sucker. 21 tracks in total on that disc, including many B-Sides and extra tracks.

A newly remastered version of album (no bonus tracks) will be issued as a 2LP vinyl set. The previous two were half-speed mastered, so we may see the same here.

Boys For Pele will be reissued on 18 November 2016.

Compare prices and pre-order

Tori Amos

Boys for Pele (Deluxe Edition)

Shop Price gbp Stock
JPC de   19.99


Disc: 1
1. Beauty Queen / Horses (Remastered)
2. Blood Roses (Remastered)
3. Father Lucifer (Remastered)
4. Professional Widow (Remastered)
5. Mr. Zebra (Remastered)
6. Marianne (Remastered)
7. Caught A Lite Sneeze (Remastered)
8. Muhammad My Friend (Remastered)
9. Hey Jupiter (Remastered)
10. Way Down (Remastered)
11. Little Amsterdam (Remastered)
12. Talula (Remastered)
13. Not The Red Baron (Remastered)
14. Agent Orange (Remastered)
15. Doughnut Song (Remastered)
16. In The Springtime Of His Voodoo (Remastered)
17. Putting The Damage On (Remastered)
18. Twinkle (Remastered)

Disc: 2
1. Hey Jupiter (The Dakota Version) [Remastered]
2. To The Fair Motormaids Of Japan*
3. That’s What I Like Mick (The Sandwich Song) [Remastered]
4. Fire-Eater’s Wife / Beauty Queen (Demo Version) [Remastered]
5. Professional Widow (Armand’s Star Trunk Funkin’ Mix – Radio Edit) [Remastered]
6. Sugar (Live)
7. Alamo
8. Talula (M&M Mix)*
9. Professional Widow (Merry Widow Version) [Live] [Remastered]
10. Frog On My Toe (Remastered)
11. Hungarian Wedding Song (Remastered)
12. Walk To Dublin (Sucker Reprise) [Remastered]
13. Toodles Mr. Jim (Remastered)
14. Sister Named Desire (Remastered)
15. Amazing Grace / Til The Chicken (Remastered)
16. This Old Man (Remastered)
17. Sucker*
18. Honey (Live) [Remastered]
19. Graveyard (Remastered)
20. London Girls (Remastered)
21. In The Springtime Of His Voodoo (Rookery Ending)*

*previously unreleased

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments