XTC / “Nonsuch” reissue with hi-res 5.1 mix and demos on CD+Blu-ray


XTC‘s 1992 album Nonsuch is being reissued as a deluxe edition that will include a 5.1 Surround mix, a new stereo mix and hi-res versions of both.

Steven Wilson has produced the new mixes from the original tapes, with the input of founder band member Andy Partridge and the full approval of the band.

The reissues will take the form of double digi-packs with slipcases; you get to choose between a CD+DVD-A version or a CD+Blu-ray edition.

However, the Blu-ray edition contains some exclusive content NOT available on the DVD-A, including hi-res stereo instrumental mixes of the songs on the album, Andy Partridge home demos, and the promo films for the singles. Perhaps not too much of a ‘choice’ after all?

The CD has the new stereo mix, and the DVD-A or Blu-ray discs include new and original stereo mixes in hi-res (as well as the 5.1 of course). Both sets offer outstanding value being priced at less than £16.

Blu-ray features the following (disc is region free, NTSC):

  • • A 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio Surround (24bit/96khz) mixed from the original multi-track tapes.
  • • The new stereo album mix in DTS-HD Master Audio (24bit/96khz).
  • Exclusive instrumental versions of all new mixes in DTS-HD Master Audio stereo (24bit/96khz).
  • Exclusive Andy Partridge home demos and Colin Moulding work tapes for songs written for the album and contemporaneously.
  • • Filmed footage of the band working on the album in Chipping Norton Studios.
  • • Promo films for The Ballad of Peter Pumpkinhead and The Disappointed

DVD-A features the following (Region 0, NTSC):

  • • A 5.1 DTS Mix of the album.
  • • Original and new album mixes by Steven Wilson in High Resolution stereo
  • • DVD-A players & some Blu-Ray players can, additionally, access a 5.1 Advanced Resolution (24bit/96khz Lossless audio) mix.

CD track listing

  • 1. The Ballad of Peter Pumpkinhead
  • 2. My Bird Performs
  • 3. Dear Madam Barnum
  • 4. Humble Daisy
  • 5. The Smartest Monkeys
  • 6. The Disappointed
  • 7. Holly Up On Poppy
  • 8. Crocodile
  • 9. Rook
  • 10. Omnibus
  • 11. That Wave
  • 12. Then She Appeared
  • 13. War Dance
  • 14. Wrapped In Grey
  • 15. The Ugly Underneath
  • 16. Bungalow
  • 17. Books Are Burning

Bonus Track:

  • 18. Didn’t Hurt a Bit

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments