Cyndi Lauper / “She’s So Unusual” 30th Anniversary Celebration


Sony Music’s Legacy Recordings will issue a deluxe “30th Anniversary Celebration” edition of Cyndi Lauper‘s 1983 album She’s So Unusual at the end of March.

A two-CD deluxe will be the only format that includes an extra disc featuring nine bonus tracks, including unreleased demos and rehearsals, as well as the Arthur Baker Remix of She Bop. Some period cuts are noticeable by their absence, including (incredibly) the twelve-inch version of Girls Just Wanna Have Fun.

The deluxe also includes a “reusable sticker set”, including vinyl cut outs of Lauper’s outfits and accessories that can be arranged in different combinations on a 3D fold-out backdrop of the bedroom featured in the Girls Just Want To Have Fun video. This special packaging explains a higher-than-expected price-tag for a 2CD deluxe edition.

Three 2013 remixes are appended to the album on CD 1 (groan), and these are also available on the standard one disc remaster. If you purchase the vinyl version it comes with a download code for the remixes (it’s not clear if this includes the album as well).

She’s So Unusual 30th Anniversary Celebration is released on 30 March 2014. Leave a comment and let us know your thoughts on this release.

2CD Deluxe Edition

Vinyl (with download code)

Single disc remaster

 Track listing

Disc: 1

  • 1. Money Changes Everything
  • 2. Girls Just Want To Have
  • 3. When You Were Mine
  • 4. Time After Time
  • 5. She Bop
  • 6. All Through The Night
  • 7. Witness
  • 8. I’ll Kiss You
  • 9. He’s So Unusual
  • 10. Yeah Yeah
  • 11. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (2013 Yolanda Be Cool Remix)
  • 12. Time After Time (2013 Nervo Remix)
  • 13. Time After Time (2013 Bent Collective Remix)

Disc: 2 (deluxe only)

  • 1. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (Early Guitar Demo)
  • 2. All Through The Night (1982 rehearsal, with studio dialog)
  • 3. Rules And Regulations (1982 Rehearsal)
  • 4. Money Changes Everything (Demo)
  • 5. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (Demo)
  • 6. Right Train, Wrong Track (Non LP B-Side)
  • 7. Witness (Live, Boston, 1984)
  • 8. She Bop (1983 Arthur Baker Remix)
  • 9. Time After Time (Work In Progress Rough Mix)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments