David Byrne / American Utopia

David Byrne will issue American Utopia next month, his first solo studio album since 2004’s Grown Backwards.

The record forms part of a larger multi-media project dubbed Reasons To Be Cheerfulan ongoing series curated by Byrne of ‘hopeful writings’, photos, music, and lectures – all themed around optimism

The ten track album includes the song Everybody’s Coming To My House, which was co-written with Brian Eno.

Speaking about the album, Byrne said: “These songs don’t describe an imaginary or possibly impossible place but rather attempt to depict the world we live in now. Many of us, I suspect, are not satisfied with that world – the world we have made for ourselves. We look around and we ask ourselves – well, does it have to be like this? Is there another way? These songs are about that looking and that asking.”

The cover art for American Utopia is by ‘outsider artist’ Purvis Young and the album itself will be released by Todomundo/Nonesuch Records on 9 March 2018. A world tour kicks off the same month that Byrne has called “the most ambitious show I’ve done since the shows that were filmed for Stop Making Sense.”

1. I Dance Like This
2. Gasoline And Dirty Sheets
3. Every Day Is A Miracle
4. Dog’s Mind
5. This Is That
6. It’s Not Dark Up Here
7. Bullet
8. Doing The Right Thing
9. Everybody’s Coming To My House
10. Here

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments