Depeche Mode / Strange & Strange Too blu-ray release

Classic short-film collections, reissued

Depeche Mode’s video/film collections Strange (1988) and Strange Too (1990) are brought together for a blu-ray and DVD release in December.

Only ever issued on VHS and Laserdisc, these collections of music videos and short films by Anton Corbijn were undertaken for, arguably, their two best albums 1987’s Music For The Masses and 1990’s Violator (although the final Black Celebration single, ‘A Question of Time’, also features on Strange).

This new combined collection presents 11 Anton Corbijn/Depeche Mode music films, newly restored from original Super 8mm sources, alongside six previously unseen outtake “vignettes” from the DM archives. When assembling the final edits for Strange and Strange Too, Corbijn created a visual running order where the individual music videos are perceived as one continuous film, with additional interstitial content not seen in the original promo clips. 

The new Strange / Strange Too blu-ray/DVD package

Remembering the filming, Corbijn says “The idea to make this into a connected series of little films and fake interviews came late into the process of shooting these. I was shooting all the films myself on black & white Super 8 film. We put all this together on a shoestring budget; those were the days. We have to look at these films in the light of us being young; we were experimenting and I am happy we were given that space at the time by Daniel Miller.”

The blu-ray and DVD configurations of this release come in a digipack with a 16-page concertina booklet featuring photographs and new liner notes penned by Anton Corbijn.

Strange/Strange Too will be released on 8 December 2023, via Sony Music Entertainment.

Compare prices and pre-order

Depeche Mode

Strange - Strange Too - blu-ray edition


Compare prices and pre-order

Depeche Mode

Strange - Strange Too - DVD edition

The original cover of Strange


Strange / Strange Too Depeche Mode /

    • Strange/Strange Too
      1. A Question of Time
      2. Strangelove
      3. Never Let Me Down Again
      4. Behind the Wheel
      5. Pimpf
      Outtake vignettes
      1. Strangelove
      2. Behind the Wheel
      3. Behind the Wheel (Shep Pettibone Mix)
      1. Personal Jesus
      2. Policy of Truth
      3. Enjoy the Silence
      4. Clean
      5. Halo
      6. World in My Eyes
      Outtake vignettes
      1. Personal Jesus (Acoustic)
      2. Policy of Truth
      3. Policy of Truth (Trancentral Mix)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments