Fans scathing over Cyndi reissue

Cyndi Lauper / "She's So Unusual" 30th Anniversary Celebration

High Price • Fanciful packaging • Missing remixes

Sony’s forthcoming reissue of Cyndi Lauper‘s 1983 album She’s So Unusual – revealed here last week – has be already been slammed by readers of SuperDeluxeEdition, two months before it’s due for release

The two-CD deluxe edition which comes in elaborate packaging with a “reusable sticker set”, vinyl cut-outs of Lauper’s outfits and a “3D fold-out backdrop of the bedroom featured in the Girls Just Want To Have Fun video” has been criticised primarily for its failure to include period remixes, something compounded by a nine-track bonus disc that will struggle to reach half-capacity.

SDE reader Griffin commented: “Her female fans may appreciate the “paper doll”-appeal of changing Cyndi’s outfits etc. But come on, I’m a guy, passed my 40th birthday a few years back! What do I do with that?”

It seems that around 15 officially released tracks from the era are missing, including single versions, remixes and non-album tracks. Another SDE reader Robert wrote “Here’s the official versions of Girls Just Wanna Have Fun. Only one is included.”

  • Album Version – 3:49
  • Video Version – 4:19
  • Extended version – 6:08
  • Fun with V. Knutsn (Instrumental) – 7:10
  • Xtra Fun – 5:05
  • Remix – 6:30
  • Radio remix – 3:39
  • “Girls Just Want to Have Fun” (featuring Puffy AmiYumi) – 2:59
  • Extended remix – 7:24
  • More Fun remix – 5:07

The addition of three 2013 remixes also seemed to miss the mark for many. SDE reader Edward stopped by to leave this comment “If I want to listen to a 2013 remix, I ask my son to download me some.”

SDE fan Ken summed up complaints succinctly: “I get wanting to put out a cool deluxe version of this album, but this is like throwing a party and no one shows up. There’s no way I’m buying this. The audience for these anniversary editions are 40+ year old fans who want period material, not radio/club-ready remixes for today’s airplay.”

The price was the final shocker. Reader Don predicted “I wouldn’t be surprised if the price listed on amazon.com is an import price. There’s no way they’d charge almost $50 for a 2-disc set.”

At the time of writing the price is still $47 on Amazon.com and is £34 on Amazon.co.uk. Read all the comments and feedback from SDE readers here.

Track listing as Sony intend to release it:

Track listing

Disc: 1

  • 1. Money Changes Everything
  • 2. Girls Just Want To Have
  • 3. When You Were Mine
  • 4. Time After Time
  • 5. She Bop
  • 6. All Through The Night
  • 7. Witness
  • 8. I’ll Kiss You
  • 9. He’s So Unusual
  • 10. Yeah Yeah
  • 11. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (2013 Yolanda Be Cool Remix)
  • 12. Time After Time (2013 Nervo Remix)
  • 13. Time After Time (2013 Bent Collective Remix)

Disc: 2 (deluxe only)

  • 1. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (Early Guitar Demo)
  • 2. All Through The Night (1982 rehearsal, with studio dialog)
  • 3. Rules And Regulations (1982 Rehearsal)
  • 4. Money Changes Everything (Demo)
  • 5. Girls Just Want To Have Fun (Demo)
  • 6. Right Train, Wrong Track (Non LP B-Side)
  • 7. Witness (Live, Boston, 1984)
  • 8. She Bop (1983 Arthur Baker Remix)
  • 9. Time After Time (Work In Progress Rough Mix)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments