Frankie Goes To Hollywood’s Welcome to the Pleasuredome to be reissued (again)

No bonus audio • New sleeve notes • CD packaged in hardcover book

BMG will reissue Frankie Goes To Hollywood‘s 1984 album Welcome To The Pleasuredome in October under their new ‘Art of the Album’ banner.

According to BMG their ‘Art of the Album’ initiative is about “celebrating the album as an art form” and the sleeve notes (written by Paul Flynn) in both the vinyl and CD reissues will explore specific aspects to the album such as ‘The Key Players’, ‘The Songwriting’, ‘The Production’ and ‘The Legacy’ etc.

What this and other reissues under ‘Art of the Album’ umbrella don’t do is offer any bonus audio. You just get the standard album. That in itself is a fluid concept for Welcome To The Pleasuredome, since the original CD edition didn’t match the vinyl LP or cassette. However, the original vinyl track listing has established itself in recent years as the defacto ‘official’ version of the album.

The single CD release will come packaged as a hardcover book (also known as a ‘casebound book’) and the vinyl will be the usual gatefold double LP. The vinyl uses the same mastering as the Sainsbury’s white vinyl exclusive from last year and the CD is the same as the 25th anniversary remaster from 2010.

For the time being, both editions of this ‘art of the album’ version of Welcome To The Pleasuredome can be pre-ordered exclusively via PledgeMusic. They will be issued on 17 October 2017.

Pre-order Welcome to the Pleasuredome at PledgeMusic.

Welcome To The Pleasuredome – An abbreviated reissue history:

  • • 2003: German label Repertoire Records issue a CD+DVD edition of Welcome To The Pleasuredome which comes with black cover art. Two bonus tracks on the CD and four videos on the DVD.
  • • 2009: Japanese-only two-CD reissue offers the album in mini-LP CD packaging with a nine-track bonus disc of mixes and B-sides.
  • 2009: Return to the Pleasuredome box set issued in Japan, offering two CDs, a DVD, a T-shirt and ‘the f.g.t.h. condom’.
  • • 2010: Salvo Records issues a two-CD deluxe edition of the album which includes a bonus disc of previously unreleased mixes, demos and outtakes.
  • • 2014: The limited edition Inside The Pleasuredome box set issued – limited to 2,000 copies. Lavish and largely full of vinyl.
  • • 2016: White vinyl version of Welcome to the Pleasuredome made available exclusively in Sainsbury’s in the UK and FNAC in France.

LP – 180g Double Vinyl LP & Booklet


  1. well…
  2. The World Is My Oyster
  3. snatch of fury (stay)
  4. Welcome To The Pleasuredome


  1. Relax (come fighting)
  2. War (…and hide)
  3. Two Tribes (for the victims of ravishment)


  1. Ferry (Go)
  2. Born To Run
  3. San Jose (The Way)
  4. Wish (The Lads Were Here)
  5. Ballad Of 32


  1. Krisco Kisses
  2. Black Night White Light
  3. The Only Star In Heaven
  4. The Power Of Love
  5. Bang

CD – in Deluxe Hardback Cover & 28-page Booklet

  1. The World Is My Oyster
  2. including well… and snatch of fury (stay))
  3. Welcome To The Pleasuredome
  4. Relax (come fighting)
  5. War (…and hide)
  6. Two Tribes
  7. for the victims of ravishment
  8. Ferry (Go)
  9. Born To Run
  10. San Jose (The Way)
  11. Wish (The Lads Were Here)
  12. including The Ballad Of 32
  13. Krisco Kisses
  14. Black Night White Light
  15. The Only Star In Heaven
  16. The Power Of Love
  17. bang

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments