Iggy Pop / new album ‘Free’

New album • Limited coloured vinyl in gatefold sleeve

Iggy Pop will release a new album called Free in September.

Describing the record, Iggy said “This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice…By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long. But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need – not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free. So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen.”

The ten-track album is being issued via Caroline International and is available on CD, black vinyl and limited edition coloured ‘sea blue’ vinyl. It’s worth noting that the coloured vinyl comes in a gatefold sleeve, while the standard black doesn’t (both are 180g pressings).

Free will be released on 6 September 2019.

Side A
1. Free
2. Loves Missing
3. Sonali
4. James Bond
5. Dirty Sanchez

Side B
1. Glow In The Dark
2. Page
3. We Are The People
4. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night
5. The Dawn

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments