Intrigue: Steven Wilson presents Progressive Sounds in UK Alternative Music 1979-89

Alternative ’80s comp curated by Mr Wilson

“This is my personally-curated attempt to redress the balance, and to perhaps introduce any ‘80s-sceptics out there to the idea that conceptual thinking and ambition didn’t suddenly evaporate after ’77… ambitious, weird and thrilling music was all around you in the ‘80s —if you looked in the right places”.

Steven Wilson

Demon Records are to release a new compilation curated by musician, singer-songwriter and record producer, Steven Wilson. Intrigue: Steven Wilson Presents: Progressive Sounds In UK Alternative Music 1979-89 features 58 tracks, and as the title suggests, it explores the creativity, experimentation and progressive spirit of alternative British music from 1979-1989.

Artists include Wire, XTC, The Stranglers, Ultravox, The Durutti Column, Cocteau Twins, Kate Bush, Tears For Fears, The Cure, New Order, and many more.

The compilation will be available across three formats; The 4CD and 7LP vinyl editions both feature all 58 tracks while a 2LP edition offers a cut down selection of 19 songs. The 7LP vinyl edition comes with a Steven Wilson signed print (limited to 1000 copies).

The 7LP vinyl box set has been pressed at Pallas on 140g black vinyl. It comes with a 40-page booklet featuring an introduction by Steven Wilson and extensive track-by-track notes from James Nice. The 4CD deluxe comes in casebound book packaging and includes an 80-page booklet. Mastering is by Phil Kinrade and the vinyl was cut by Cicely Balston and Barry Grint.

Intrigue: Steven Wilson Presents: Progressive Sounds In UK Alternative Music 1979-89 will be released on 10 February 2023, via Demon Music.

Important update:

Amazon UK do not have a the signed version of the 7LP box set, just yet. They posted the wrong info/images yesterday. The artist store is exclusively carrying the signed edition this week, but Amazon will have the signed version available next week (beginning 7 Nov).


Intrigue: Steven Wilson presents Various Artists /

    • CD
      1. I Should Have Known Better – Wire
      2. A Better Home In The Phantom Zone – Bill Nelson’s Red Noise
      3. Back To Nature – Magazine
      4. Complicated Game (Steven Wilson 2014 Mix) – XTC
      5. Careering – Public Image Limited
      6. The Raven – The Stranglers
      7. Puppet Life – Punishment Of Luxury
      8. Astradyne (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix) – Ultravox
      9. Contract – Gang Of Four
      10. I Travel (Extended Version) – Simple Minds
      11. Sketch For Summer – The Durutti Column
      12. Health And Efficiency – This Heat
      13. Burning Car – John Foxx
      14. Cognitive Dissonance (Steven Wilson 2022 Mix) – Robert Fripp And The League of Gentlemen
      15. Fatal Day – In Camera
    • CD 2
      1. I Can’t Escape Myself – The Sound
      2. The Eternal – Joy Division
      3. Big Empty Field – Swell Maps
      4. Enemies – Art Nouveau
      5. The Joy Circuit – Gary Numan
      6. The Gospel Comes To New Guinea – 23 Skidoo
      7. All My Colours – Echo And The Bunnymen
      8. Ghost Town (Extended Version) – The Specials
      9. They All Run After The Carving Knife – New Musik
      10. The Him – New Order
      11. White Car In Germany (Single Edit) – The Associates
      12. Hit – Section 25
      13. Sealand – Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
      14. Talking Drum – Japan
      15. Faith – The Cure
    • CD 3
      1. Three Dancers (Steven Wilson 2021 Mix) – Twelfth Night
      2. Airwaves – Thomas Dolby
      3. Are You Ready? – Crispy Ambulance
      4. The Outsider – Rupert Hine
      5. Knife Slits Water – A Certain Ratio
      6. Memories Fade – Tears For Fears
      7. Patient – Peter Hammill
      8. Donimo – Cocteau Twins
      9. In A Waiting Room – Mr And Mrs Smith And Mr Drake
      10. Close (To The Edit) – The Art Of Noise
      11. Dalis Car – Dalis Car
      12. Rawhide – Scott Walker
      13. Brilliant Trees – David Sylvian
      14. Dream Within A Dream – Propaganda
    • CD 4
      1. Waking The Witch – Kate Bush
      2. Ivy And Neet – This Mortal Coil
      3. Beehead (7” Version) – Perennial Divide
      4. This Corrosion – The Sisters Of Mercy
      5. Ascension – O Yuki Conjugate
      6. No Motion – Dif Juz
      7. Gutter Busting – SLAB!
      8. Murderers, The Hope Of Women – Momus
      9. The Host Of Seraphim – Dead Can Dance
      10. R.E.S. – Cardiacs
      11. Good Morning Beautiful – The The
      12. Omega Amigo – The Shamen
      13. Night Sky, Sweet Earth – No-Man
      14. The 3rd Time We Opened The Capsule – Kitchens Of Distinction

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments