Juliana Hatfield covers Olivia Newton-John on forthcoming album

Juliana Hatfield offers a tips-of-the-hat to childhood hero Olivia Newton-John with a new album Juliana Hatfield sings Olivia Newton-John.

The album features 14 songs including familiar tracks like Physical, Hopelessly Devoted to You and Xanadu. Hatfield states in the booklet for the album that she has “never not loved Olivia Newton-John,” adding, “her music has brought me so much pure joy throughout my life. I loved her when I was a child and I love her still. Her voice and her positive energy and her melodies have stood the test of time and they give me as much pleasure now as they ever did.”

As well as the pre-order options below, American Laundromat’s website offers coloured vinyl, bonus seven-inch singles and other bundles. Cargo Records in the UK are offering the album too, although they want a rather ridiculous £34 for the coloured vinyl pressing, which is only $20 (£14) in the USA. Shipping and import duty doesn’t add £20 to a £14 product, so that price is really unacceptable.

A nice touch is that one dollar from the sale of every album will be donated to the Olivia Newton-John Cancer Wellness & Research Centre (ONJ Centre), a nonprofit organisation dedicated to providing patients with cancer access to leading medical treatment, breakthrough research, and the best in wellness and supportive care.

Juliana Hatfield sings Olivia Newton-John will be released on 13 April 2018.

Click image to enlarge

1. I Honestly Love You
2. Suspended in Time
3. Have You Never Been Mellow
4. A Little More Love
5. Magic
6. Physical
7. Totally Hot
8. Don’t Stop Believin’
9. Please Mr. Please
10. Hopelessly Devoted to You
11. Xanadu
12. Dancin’ ‘Round and ‘Round
13. Make a Move on Me
14. I Honestly Love You (Reprise)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments