“Over the Bridge of Time: A Paul Simon Retrospective”


You can’t accuse Sony/Legacy of not hedging their bets.

In October, as previously reported, they will release a 15-disc Complete Albums Collection box set that gathers together all of Paul Simon‘s solo long-players. Good as that set looks, it could simply be too much Paul Simon for you to handle, and Sony want to offer you a bite-sized portion. So on the same day they will also release a one-CD hits package (or a ‘retrospective’, to give it the appropriate gravitas) that includes some of his best known songs from Simon and Garfunkel AND his solo output.

Of course the world does not need another greatest hits featuring the songs of Paul Simon, and the brilliance of the Simon and Garfunkel era cannot really be successfully summarised in just SIX tracks, but on the other hand this set has a very evocative and charming front cover…

Over the Bridge of Time: A Paul Simon Retrospective and the Complete Albums Collection are both released on 14 October 2013.

Track listing:

  • 01. Sound of Silence – Simon & Garfunkel
  • 02. America – Simon & Garfunkel
  • 03. The Boxer – Simon & Garfunkel
  • 04. Cecilia – Simon & Garfunkel
  • 05. The Only Living Boy In New York City – Simon & Garfunkel
  • 06. Bridge Over Troubled Water – Simon & Garfunkel
  • 07. American Tune
  • 08. Me & Julio Down By The Schoolyard
  • 09. 50 Ways to Leave Your Lover
  • 10. Slip Slidin’ Away’
  • 11. Mother and Child Reunion
  • 12. Still Crazy After All These Years
  • 13. Hearts & Bones
  • 14. Late In The Evening
  • 15. Diamonds on The Soles of Her Shoes
  • 16. You Can Call Me Al
  • 17. Spirit Voices
  • 18. Everything About It Is A Love Song
  • 19. Quiet
  • 20. Love And Hard Times

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments