Pretenders / new album Alone


The Pretenders return with Alone, next month, their tenth studio album and the first since 2008’s Break Up The Concrete.

The long-player was initially intended to be a Chrissie Hynde record, the follow-up to her fantastically good 2014 solo album, Stockholm. Apparently it even had a working title, ‘Chrissie Hynde Practices Her Autograph’ but in the end the style of production and the ragged arrangements meant that Hynde was inclined to have a rethink. Not that she’s making a big deal out of it, “These things happen. It’s just a name,” she says.

Of course it probably helps that it’s a little easier to market a Pretenders album, although Chrissie seems genuinely excited: “I am blown away myself. I really am. Every time I hear it, it just makes me laugh. To me if you are laughing, it is rock and roll. I don’t know how we achieved it but it sounds classic. I guess the team just went out and scored some goals.”

“The team” is bass player Dave Roe, guitarist Kenny Vaughan, Richard Swift on drums, Leon Michels on keyboards and Russ Pahl on pedal steel. This was recorded in Dan Auerbach’s Nashville studio and The Black Keys’ frontman produced and played some guitar.

Alone will be released on 21 October 2016.


1. Alone
2. Roadie Man
3. Gotta Wait
4. Never Be Together
5. Let’s Get Lost
6. Chord Lord
7. Blue Eyed Sky
8. The Man You Are
9. One More Day
10. I Hate Myself
11. Death Is Not Enough
12. Holy Commotion (CD only)

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments