Roger Waters announces a new album: Is This The Life We Really Want?

Roger Waters new album Is This The Life We Really Want? is due in early June and is now available to pre-order and you can also preview a full track from it, below…

The album – Waters’ first for a quarter of a century – has been produced and mixed by Nigel Godrich, best known, of course, for his work with Radiohead. Other musicians include Gus Seyffert, Jonathan Wilson, Joey Waronker and Roger Mannning.

It sounds like Godrich has kept his reputation as being a producer that challenges the artists he works with intact (see: Paul McCartney), since the album was originally going to be based around a radio play Roger had written (about man and his granddaughter investigating why children were being killed in faraway lands) but Waters told Rolling Stone that only two or three songs from that idea are on the album: “Nigel Godrich persuaded me that for the purposes of a rock and roll record, which is what this is, he felt my theatrical idea – I’d written the whole thing as a radio play – was less than ideal.”

The songs on the album are said to be an  “unflinching commentary on the modern world and uncertain times.”. SDE is impressed with Smell The Roses, which you can listen to above.

The album is being issued on CD and two-LP vinyl on 2 June 2017. No special formats or box sets have been announced at the time of writing.

1. When We Were Young
2. Déjà Vu
3. The Last Refugee
4. Picture That
5. Broken Bones
6. Is This the Life We Really Want?
7. Bird in a Gale
8. The Most Beautiful Girl
9. Smell the Roses
10. Wait for Her
11. Oceans Apart
12. Part of Me Died

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments