Suzanne Vega / Lover, Beloved: Songs From An Evening With Carson McCullers


Suzanne Vega will release Lover, Beloved: Songs From An Evening With Carson McCullers, her ninth studio album later this year…

The album is based on the singer-songwriters’ new play about the American author Carson McCullers and features ten original Vega songs, mostly co-written with composer Duncan Sheik.

McCullers wrote four novels in her fairly short life, the first of which was The Heart Is The Lonely Hunter (name-checked by Paul Young on his The Crossing album) and her 1951 short story collection The Ballad of the Sad Café has been referenced in popular culture many times and indeed a film was produced by Merchant Ivory in 1991.

sv_thumbI’m very much liking the front cover image of the album, which echoes the spirit of her early photos from 1985, in New York.

Vega’s play Lover, Beloved is a one woman show in which she stars. It will open in late October in Los Angeles, just after the album is released on 14 October 2016 on her own label Amanuensis Productions (through Cooking Vinyl in the UK).

Suzanne will also be playing live on The Lover, Beloved tour (not sure how she’s managing to appear in a one woman play AND go on tour, but anyway…) and tickets go on sale today, in the UK. You can hear a live rendition of Harper Lee, below:

Suzanne Vega performs Harper Lee by telegraphvideo


1.”Carson’s Blues”
2. “New York Is My Destination”
3. “Instant of the Hour After”
4. “We of Me”
5. “Annemarie”
6. “Twelve Mortal Men”
7. “Harper Lee”
8. “Lover, Beloved”
9. “The Ballad of Miss Amelia”
10. “Carson’s Last Supper”

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments