Tony Banks / new album, ‘Five’

Vinyl with signed sheet music folio available

Genesis founder member Tony Banks will issue a new orchestral album called Five, in February of next year.

Let’s talk numbers: Five is Banks’ tenth studio album and his third orchestral long-player following 2004’s Seven: A Suite for Orchestra and Six Pieces for Orchestra from 2012.

The album is a collection of five (geddit?) compositions written by Tony Banks and was produced by long-time collaborator Nick Davis. Conductor and orchestrator Nick Ingham (who has worked with the likes of Bowie and Oasis) was also persuaded to be involved after hearing Banks’ demos. 

Rather than one live session the recording was built up over a number of sessions in London and Prague with Banks playing all of the piano parts himself.

Five will be released on CD and 2LP gatefold vinyl via BMG Records on 2 February 2018.

No pre-orders up on the likes of Amazon or HMV yet… but as well as the two standard physical formats, the official store is offering the 2LP vinyl edition with an exclusive SIGNED sheet music folio.

Pre-order Five from the official Tony Banks Store

  1. Prelude ​ ​To ​ ​A ​ ​Million ​ ​Years (15:34)
  2. Reveille (08:58)
  3. Ebb ​ ​And ​ ​Flow (12:49)
  4. Autumn ​ ​Sonata (10:16)
  5. Renaissance (10:14)

Producer Nick Davis
Orchestrations/Conductor Nick Ingman

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments