Van Morrison / Keep Me Singing


Look out for Keep Me Singing, Van Morrison’s first collection of new songs in four years – and his 36th studio album in all – incoming this September…

Keep Me Singing is Morrison’s first studio album of original recordings since 2012’s Born to Sing: No Plan B, and is his debut release for Caroline International. The new album punctuates a run of reissues and raids of his hefty back catalogue, such as his aptly-named 2015 LP Duets: Re-Working the Catalogue, and, most recently, It’s Too Late To Stop Now… Volumes II, III, IV & DVD, a four-disc box set of previously unreleased 1973 live recordings that went on sale last month.

The forthcoming album is self-produced by Morrison and features a dozen new songs, including the lead single Too Late, Every Time I See A River (the fruit of a collaboration with legendary lyricist Don Black) and the closing instrumental Caledonia Swing on which Morrison plays both piano and saxophone.

Track eight of thirteen is the only cover version –Share Your Love With Me, co-written by Alfred Braggs and Don Robey, first recorded by Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland for his 1963 album, Call On Me, and which later earned US Top 20 hits for by Aretha Franklin (1969) and Kenny Rogers (1981). As no previews of Van’s version of this blues standard – nor of his new songs on the album – are available at the time of writing, whet your appetite with the Aretha version.

To support the album, Morrison will play six American gigs (one in New York, five in California) in October followed by seven UK dates, kicking off with a headline appearance at Bluesfest 2016 at The O2 in London. So, no sign of the indefatigable Rock and Roll Hall of Famer stopping singing any time soon.

Keep Me Singing is released on 30 September 2016.

Track Listing

  1. Let It Rhyme
  2. Every Time I See A River
  3. Keep Me Singing
  4. Out In The Cold Again
  5. Memory Lane
  6. The Pen Is Mightier Than The Sword
  7. Holy Guardian Angel
  8. Share Your Love With Me
  9. In Tiburon
  10. Look Beyond The Hill
  11. Going Down To Bangor
  12. Too Late
  13. Caledonia Swing

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments