Princess Goes To The Butterfly Museum: Debut album, Thanks for Coming

Michael C. Hall impresses as frontman of this new (wave) outfit

Princess Goes To The Butterfly Museum are a new band featuring vocalist, musician and actor Michael C. Hall (the lead in David Bowie and Enda Walsh’s Lazarus), drummer Peter Yanowitz and keyboardist Matt Katz-Bohen. Their debut album, Thanks For Coming will be released in March.

The band formed in 2019 and offer a very cool, stripped-down “synthesizer-and-drum attack” sound which evokes early 80s new wave. They’ve also made loads of videos and, given Michael C. Hall’s acting pedigree (Six Feet Under, Dexter etc.), these visuals really bring a compelling cinematic bleakness to the audio.

The new single is ‘Armageddon Suite’, which you can preview below.

With a new band, the only thing to do is to check out the music, so with that in mind have a look and listen to previously issued tracks including ‘Cruel World’ and ‘Eat an Eraser’.

SDE has had a sneak preview of the whole album and it’s very good. As well as the three songs mentioned above, other highlights on the 13-track album are the punky ‘Angela Peacock’, the dreamy ‘Airhead’ (which offers Bowie-esque vocal delivery with a mega synth-drenched chorus) and the semi-industrial ‘Sideways’. Great stuff.

Thanks For Coming will be released on vinyl and CD on 26 March 2021, via Morpho Music.

Compare prices and pre-order

Princess Goes To The Butterfly Museum

Thanks For Coming - vinyl LP


  1. Intro
  2. Bombed Out Sites
  3. Nevertheless
  4. Thanks for Coming
  5. Too Cool to Care
  6. Armageddon Suite
  7. Moodarama
  8. Eat an Eraser
  9. The Deeper Down
  10. Sideways
  11. Angela Peacock
  12. Airhead
  13. Tomorrows Screams

SuperDeluxeEdition.com helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments